Oak discovered.

So the oak I found in an unknown park is actually Swamp oak or sister to Sheoak, and grows everywhere is Sydney. Well one of them was split in two and clean up on both sides ready for the froe to arrive. The other find could not be split, the axe did not ever mark it, nor did the sledge and cold concrete chisel. I guess I will have to get proper wedge to split that one open. I am yet to examine the grain but found a nice discussion these here on these sheoaks. Well I guess when I get to split them up we’ll see. My front pine lost another limb thanks to my mother in law, but it shall not be wasted.

IMAG1026IMAG1027

Making of my club
Making of my club from smaller limb.
Leave a Reply

